Brand: New indie video game Help

Sorry TigerCrew, but she bribed me better than you did.

Moderators: GreenCrayon, Lethal Interjection, Kimra, Oldrac the Chitinous, Amerika, Cirtur, Kisai, Astrogirl, Kovvy, carbonstealer, Apocalyptus, PyroPrav, Felstaff, smiley_cow, Sahan, Euclidthegreek, Kaharz, Asherian, FengharTheNord

EtienneVanier

Brand: New indie video game Help

Post by EtienneVanier »

Hi SMBC community,

My name is Etienne Vanier and I'm an artist in a new Canadian indie studio, Nine Dots. We've seen how generous you were when Zach announced his Kickstarter and that the internet community was ready to help those who make quality entertainment on a tight budget. For the past 8 months, the five of us have worked full time with no salary to create our first game, Brand. It's a 2D hack and slash with 3D graphics, with lots of weapon customization. Think Megaman in large Castlevania-like maps. We'll release it to Xbox Live Indie soon and we're working on a PC release as well.

We've set up a Rockethub page to gather funds that will allow us to purchase equipment and software so we can start another project and really launch our company. If you're unfamiliar with crowdsourcing (Rockethub being one example), in exchange for an amount of money donated to the cause, we give you perks related to the game. Many of you could be interested in tutorials detailing how to make a game in 3D (with Blender) and how to make a game design document.

That next game is codenamed Corsair, and will be a spaceship game, similar to Freelancer. If either game sounds interesting to you, I would call upon your generosity to support our indie games. Spending only 10 bucks will net you the PC version of the game and a mention in the credits as a charitable indie supporter. If you could spread the word on Twitter or Facebook and really get the ball rolling, we'll be able to keep on creating our dream.

Thank you

Etienne Vanier
Lead Artist
Nine Dots Studio

Here's the Rockethub page: